8 PPC Metrics Every Business Should Track
PPC is not only a proven method to engage your potential customers but also an ideal way to instantly get customers who are ready to purchase from your business. With the consistent changes in the business landscape, you are required to measure the success of PPC campaigns to ensure that your marketing tactics are performing well.
If you are managing PPC campaigns, you must measure particular PPC metrics that help to improve conversions and ROI. However, knowing the metrics that make your PPC campaigns more profitable becomes tricky. To help you out, we have come up with a list of essential PPC metrics that you may consider while measuring the success of your PPC campaigns.
Let’s have a look:
Clicks
Along with the most technical metrics, there is a need to check the clicks received by each ad group, individual ad, and campaign. If someone clicks on the ad or hits like on text ads, Google Adwords treats that as a click. So, the more clicks your ad gets, the better it means that more people visit your website from PPC ads.
The number of clicks helps to identify the performance of your advertisement and how it attracts the audience who views it. Mostly, the highly-targeted and relevant ads get more clicks. It means you can check the number of clicks while evaluating the relevancy and quality of your ads.
CTR(Click-through rate)
While running a PPC ad, CTR is an essential metric to track. This metric makes you learn about your customers by informing them what works well with their target audience. If you have a low CTR, you are focusing on the wrong audience or failing to share your message in a way that convinces them to click.
Likewise, a high CTR indicates that your business is displaying in the relevant search results, and the ad copy is compelling. However, a large number of clicks may still not generate revenue if you ignore the actions your customers take after they click. So, you are required to adjust the campaign for different keywords.
Quality Score
For a Google Ads campaign to be successful, quality score is crucial. However, Google’s factors in finding the ad’s Quality Score are still unknown. The quality score helps to determine where the ad appears on SERP and how much you pay for a click. The lower a keyword’s cost-per-click (CPC) and the better its ad position, the higher its Quality Score. Here are the ways that help to increase your quality score:
- Create landing pages with many relevant keywords to whatever is being advertised.
- Create properly organized ad groups.
- Use keywords in your ad copy.
- Feature an impressive Call to action.
Cost Per Click(CPC)
The cost you pay every time when someone clicks your paid ad is termed CPC(Cost Per Click). It is another essential metric for successful PPC campaigns. CPCs may vary depending on the industry, but just like clicks, you are required to get updated with the trends. Remember one thing that CPCs depend on the keywords’ competitiveness that you are using.
If you notice an increase in the CPCs, you may consider using long-tail keywords to drive more traffic or increase your bids to remain competitive for most essential keywords. In addition, CPC is an important metric to monitor while figuring out the optimum budget if you have any particular conversion plan.
Impression Share
This PPC metric calculates the rate of all the possible impressions your advertisements are getting. For example, if there are 1000 searches done per day for your single keywords, and your ads appear around 800 times for that specific keyword, it means you own an 80% impression share. On the contrary, you would have a loss of 20% in impression share, as you are missing out on some part of the available impressions. The lost impression share is further divided by Google into two categories:
- Impression share lost because of ad rank
- Impression share lost because of budget
This division allows you to figure out whether you should increase the daily budget, raise bids or enhance the quality score to get a better ad position.
Conversion Rate
It is among the important PPC marketing metrics, as the purpose of a PPC campaign is to attract qualified leads to improve the sales of your website. Moreover, it allows you to track each sale that generates from PPC, so the conversion rate is directly linked to your effectiveness as a PPC expert. This metric gives a wide view to summarize the effectiveness of the marketing efforts across landing pages and PPC ads. Along with this, the conversion rate helps to analyze how well the landing pages are transforming traffic into customers when they visit your website.
Return on Ad Spend
It is the revenue quantity that a business receives after spending some particular budget on ad campaigns. ROAS is one of the heavily regarded and most common metrics as it provides a top-notch outline of paid ad campaigns. The more return you receive on the ads, the more thriving will be your ad campaign. Let’s learn better with the help of an example; assume that your e-commerce business produces revenue of $10,000 after consuming a budget of around $2000, then ROAS will be 500%.
Bounce Rate
It tells us about the number of visitors that just visit your landing page and leave immediately. The PPC campaigns’ bounce rate, when compared with other platforms, helps to know the quality of paid campaigns and the conversion rate. In simple words, the low the bounce rate, the better it will be.
Summing it Up
With these essential PPC metrics in mind, you will get a 360-degree view of your campaign’s performance and how to improve it. If you need any assistance with your PPC campaigns, you may hire professional PPC company. They are always prepared to audit your AdWords account and customize your business’s PPC success strategy.